Today in disaster resilience (24 May 2016)

Please find links below to some aspects of disaster resilience that were in the news today…

Current emergencies/disasters

Sri Lanka Floods – Over 90 Dead, 500 Homes Destroyed http://floodlist.com/asia/sri-lanka-death-toll-may-2016-floods-landslides

Somalia – Thousands Displaced as Shabelle River Overflows http://floodlist.com/africa/somalia-may-2016-shabelle-river-overflow-beledweyne

Extreme Weather and Climate Change

World could warm by massive 10C if all fossil fuels are burned http://www.theguardian.com/environment/2016/may/23/world-could-warm-by-massive-10c-if-all-fossil-fuels-are-burned?CMP=share_btn_tw

The climate response to five trillion tonnes of carbon

http://www.nature.com/nclimate/journal/vaop/ncurrent/full/nclimate3036.html

Future Arctic Temperature Change resulting from a Range of Aerosol Emissions Scenarios http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/2016EF000361/pdf

Proposed Short-Lived Climate Pollutant Reduction Strategy http://www.arb.ca.gov/cc/shortlived/meetings/04112016/proposedstrategy.pdf

Abrupt Atlantic Ocean Changes May Have Been Natural http://www.climatecentral.org/news/atlantic-ocean-changes-may-have-been-natural-20367?utm_content=bufferd3b4a&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer

Recent slowing of Atlantic overturning circulation as a recovery from earlier strengthening http://www.nature.com/ngeo/journal/vaop/ncurrent/full/ngeo2715.html

Staying on Track from Paris http://www.wri.org/publication/staying-track-paris

Poorest countries experience earlier anthropogenic emergence of daily temperature extremes http://iopscience.iop.org/article/10.1088/1748-9326/11/5/055007

Slowdown of the Gulf Stream System or AMOC (Atlantic Meridional Overturning Circulation) http://www.realclimate.org/index.php/archives/2016/05/amoc-slowdown-connecting-the-dots/?wpmp_tp=1

Disaster risk reduction

Global Report on Internal Displacement http://www.internal-displacement.org/globalreport2016/?platform=hootsuite

UEA landslide research could help save lives https://www.uea.ac.uk/about/-/uea-landslide-research-could-help-save-lives

Wildfires in West have gotten bigger, more frequent and longer since the 1980s https://theconversation.com/wildfires-in-west-have-gotten-bigger-more-frequent-and-longer-since-the-1980s-42993

Past and Projected Changes in Western North Pacific Tropical Cyclone Exposure https://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/news/evaluating-tropical-cyclone-exposure-and-vulnerability

Power cuts caused by flooding ‘major danger’ to British lives, engineers warn http://www.theguardian.com/environment/2016/may/11/power-cuts-caused-by-flooding-major-danger-to-british-lives-engineers-warn

Myanmar Seeks to Break Vicious Circle of Flood and Drought http://www.ipsnews.net/2016/05/myanmar-seeks-to-break-vicious-circle-of-flood-and-drought/

Emergency management

Tornado Sirens, an Old Technology, Still Play a Vital Role http://www.nytimes.com/2016/05/24/us/tornado-sirens-an-old-technology-still-play-a-vital-role.html?_r=0

In a humanitarian crisis, sharing data can save lives https://www.weforum.org/agenda/2016/05/in-a-humanitarian-crisis-sharing-data-can-save-lives/

Disaster education, communications and engagement

Transformation Often Begins With a Single Conversation https://www.rockefellerfoundation.org/blog/transformation-often-begins-with-single-conversation/?utm_source=Social%20Media&utm_medium=Twitter&utm_campaign=RF%20Blog

The Ten Deadliest Natural Disasters in US History https://medium.com/homeland-security/the-ten-deadliest-natural-disasters-in-us-history-59bfaff2616a#.j2oozbk1n

Social Media and Emergencies

“Not So Black and White”: Discussions of Race on Twitter in the Aftermath of #Ferguson and the Shooting Death of Mike Brown https://www.researchgate.net/publication/299473001_Not_So_Black_and_White_Discussions_of_Race_on_Twitter_in_the_Aftermath_of_Ferguson_and_the_Shooting_Death_of_Mike_Brown

How quickly does news of terrorist attacks spread on Google http://time.com/4345276/terror-attacks-brussels-google-search/

Advertisements

Published by

NeilDufty

I write non-fiction about disaster management and resilience. I also write fiction including poems and short stories.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s